Grammar

Words and Phrases Followed by Infinitive

I want to buy a bicycle.
I agree to pay the bill.
He refused to come with us.
We are lucky to find such a good apartment.
Joanna tends to be a bit shy.
Tom promised to be back at 8 o’clock.
I am glad to meet you.
I decided to study chemistry.
He deserves to be properly punished.
Jane began to pack her things.
I hate to cook.
I need to paint my apartment.
She offered to pick us up on her way to work.
They pretended not to hear what was going on in the other room.
My grandmother’s health appeared to be better after the treatment.
We arranged to stay in a hotel.
Where do you want to go?
What do you want to do?
I’d like a glass of water, please.
I’d prefer to go for a walk than to stay here and watch TV.
It’s a pleasure to know you.
Jim is too young to start working.
Jim is not old enough to start working.
It is nice of you to bring me flowers.
Infinitive without “to” (bare infinitive)
You can do it by yourself.
We must concentrate on our project.
We had better stay at home tonight. They predicted heavy rain.
I’d rather visit a foreign country for my holiday than go to the seaside.
Paris made me apologize.
My dad let me drive his car.
He helped me fix the roof on the shed.

Leave a Reply

