Writing

INFORMAL LETTER

Beginning

Dear (first name),

Thank you for your letter/mail.

It was great to hear from you.

I’m sorry I haven’t been in touch you for such a long time.

I hope you’re having a good/great time.

Inquiring about their news

How are you/your family? / How are things?

Great news about … Glad to hear that … Sorry to hear about …

Giving news

Listen, have I told you …? You’ll never believe …

I’ve got some good/bad news…

Oh, and another thing …

I thought you might be interested to hear that …

Apologies

I’m writing to apologise for…

I’m really sorry that I forgot about your birthday/anniversary.

Invitations

I’m/We’re having a party on Sunday and I hope you will be able to join us.

I was wondering if you’d like to go to the movies/camping with us?

Thank you very much for your invitation. I’d love to come.

Thank you for asking/inviting me to … but I’m afraid I won’t be able to …

Requests

I’m writing to ask for your help/you to do me a favor.

I hope you don’t mind me asking but could you (possibly) …?

I’d be very/really grateful if you could …

Expressing thanks

Thank you/thanks a bunch/a million.

I appreciate your help/invitation/advice.

It was so kind of you to …

I really appreciated all your help/advice.

Congratulations on getting a new job!

I wish you good luck with your new job/your driving test/your interview.

Making suggestions and recommend.

Why don’t you …? Maybe you could …? How about …?

If I were you, I’d…/I’d recommend that you…

Have you thought about…?/ Don’t miss to…

Endings

I should/must go now… Well, that’s all for now…

Give my love/regards to … Say hello to … Hope to hear from you soon.

See you soon! Write soon. Once again, thank you for all your help.

Signing off

Love/Lots of love/Take care/Yours/Best wishes,

First name

Leave a Reply

